jump to navigation

Knee me, baby, one more time. December 15, 2008

Posted by Julie Momster in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback

I suppose technically that should have been titles “Knee me, 5-year-old Squirm Demon, one more time.”

We had IzzMonster overnight on Saturday. Due mainly to having her and my sis-in-law’s joint (hahahahaha.. joint) birthday party at my mother-in-law’s.

Crazy and joyous times to be had by all. We took our entire party of 20-some people with our homemade hot chocolate and bundled up to take a walk through downtown Omaha. Luckily, on the last nice (ie: above 32ºF) day we have had here.

Keeping in mind, however, that traipsing out in December after 9PM with 5 children under the age of 7 is almost always an exercise in insanity. At several points in the evening, I was tempted to throw Mikey’s 6-year-old sister into the barely frozen waters underneath the bridge. I highly doubt anyone would have minded too much – she is pretty much the most legitimately demonic and manipulative child I have ever been forced to encounter. But that is a tale for another day. Suffice it to say, it’s a good thing she’s not related to Mikey by blood, or I would have serious doubts as to birthing his child without an exorcist on hand.

The actual “festivities” of the evening went fairly well. Cake and ice cream enjoyed by all. Isabella made out like a birthday bandit! You have never seen so much Hannah Montana/High School Musical junk in your life. Ick. But as long as she’s happy with her ‘booty’, I’ll keep my thoughts on the horror of Disney television programming to myself.

At about 11:30 at night, we trekked home. Well, we rode in Mikey’s dad’s Caliber and tried not to have all 4 of us pass out on the 30 block drive., to be completely honest. The main benefit of staying out all night with Mikey’s crazy big family is that Izzy wore herself out, and by midnight was dead-unconscious in the middle of our bed.

Which brings me to my blog title.

OUCH.

That is the sound of being constantly awoken by 5-year-old knees slamming into my back and stomach all night, as I was confined to my foot-and-a-half edge of our California king sized bed. I did not know starfish even GREW that big. Let alone that they were so damn fidgety…

I blame it all on Mikey. He’s a squirmer at night too, although nowhere NEAR this bad. And not this bad of a bed-hog, either. But Izzy is. And so is Avienda already.

I’m going to start sleeping on the couch.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

