jump to navigation

Visual Therapy. March 26, 2009

Posted by Julie Momster in Uncategorized.
Tags: , ,
trackback
Never do I double-post in a day, but I ran across the Sweet Juniper blog, from a man (and wife and child) who have moved from San Fransisco to Detroit, the city of my family.

I read further into some of the posts about Detroit, and it made me realize all the reasons why my husband says it’s the most disgusting place on earth – and why I love it, and want so badly for things to change there.

The city has been ravaged and decimated for many, many years. The once beautiful, thriving powerhouse of this country in all of it’s industry, has been reduced to vast tracks of pavement prairie waste-land.

I have to give credit where credit is due, and hopefully James D. Griffioen won’t mind my borrowing a few of his incredible shots to illustrate my point – that this is a city that needs to be saved, not abadoned and dismissed.

Belle Isle Zoo (2008)

Belle Isle Zoo (2008)

Belle Isle Zoo

Belle Isle Zoo

Detroit Public Schools Book Depository

Detroit Public Schools Book Depository

Building left to rot after a fire in 1987. These pictures are from 2008.

Building left to rot after a fire in 1987. These pictures are from 2008.

 Here is where James tells the sad story of the Depository.

Duplicity

Duplicity

An abadoned Factory

An abadoned Factory

One of Detroit's lost neighborhoods

One of Detroit's lost neighborhoods

Urban Prairie

Urban Prairie

the Packard Automobile Plant

the Packard Automobile Plant

Scrapper Encampment

Scrapper Encampment

Third Street

Third Street

Vacant Schools

Vacant Schools

Abadoned Excellence

Abadoned Excellence

Comments»

1. Hi. I suck hardcore. « Adventures of the Julie MOMster. - August 29, 2009

[…] encampment” If you have not read my post or links regarding the degeneration of Detroit, you should. It ripped my heart right […]


Leave a Reply

