jump to navigation

Getting Paid. May 20, 2009

Posted by Julie Momster in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I love my work. This is the first time in my life that I’ve ever had a paid vacation, and it’s fantastic!

Well, almost entirely. We spent the entire day at Disney yesterday. It also rained the entire day. Really, it wasn’t that bad. It was just sprinkling the entire day, after the initial downpour – but being stuck in wet clothes and shoes for an entire day is not particularly comfortable. But, Christ, I forgot how much I love roller coasters! Aerosmith’s Rockin’ Roller Coaster is freakin’ awesome, and although the Tower of Terror scared the SHIT out of me, I still liked it.

Today, we’re at Vero Beach on the Atlantic side of Florida, in a (you guessed it) Disney Resort. I don;t know if I’ve mentioned just how “Pro-Disney” my in-laws are. We spent the day playing in the pool in the rain, and cruising down the water slide. I’m currently forgoing a fierce game of Catch Phrase in order to do this quick update.

Only bad thing of our trip so far? And the thing that took at least 10 years off of my life? We took a walk on the beach when we got to the resort, because our rooms weren’t ready yet. The surf has been crazy, due to all the rain for the past 3 days or so, just monster waves and rip tides. So we’re being not retarded, and walking well away from the breakers. Well, that apparently wasn’t enough. This huge wave crashed, and rushed up the beach – everyone ran as fast as possible on wet sand. Me? Not running fast enough, and definitely not fast enough for me with the Baby wrapped in my arms. The tide rushed up, took my legs out from under me, and I face-planted into the sand and water. I have no idea how, but I managed to lift the baby over my head, and held on to her. I remember Mikey yelling at me to get up, but the current was pulling me back into the ocean. With a swift yank on my arm, we were up, and I died. Or close enough – my baby was fine, but I have never been so shaky in my life. I don’t even care that I nearly drowned myself, because at least she’s okay. 

Tomorrow should be even better. And hopefully it will be free of near-death experiences.

Comments»

1. kirida - May 21, 2009

Those waves are fast and frightening. I grew up on a tropical island where we thought we were so badass for swimming as far as we could away from the shore. I would never be so cavalier now, and I’m so much more prone to panicking, so I get how quickly you can be scared.

I hope the rest of your vacation is free of terrors and you truly are in the happiest place on earth.

2. troubleinstereo - May 27, 2009

Thank you! That wave had come up out of nowhere, too – needless to say, the babe and I avoided to ocean for the rest of our trip. She loved the pool though! Which is great in my book, because 1) I love the pool, and 2) the pool is not ruled by Mother Nature. It merely requires EXTREME VIGILANCE in order to avoid disaster. I can handle that 🙂


Leave a Reply

