jump to navigation

Home. May 28, 2009

Posted by Julie Momster in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Ahhhhh, home. Wonderful to be back. Wonderful to sleep in my own bed. Wonderful to have the rain follow us all the way back to Nebraska – wait… not wonderful.

Oh well. The perpetual rainfall didn’t even ruin this trip, and after our would-be-baby-killing-ocean incident, the rest of our trip was fantastic.

The wedding was beautiful – I started crying the second I saw Jessica walk through the chapel doors, she was that beautiful (pictures to come later). The reception was insane – imagine a ballroom full of  Cubans, an open bar, and lots of Salsa music. I loved every minute of it – and probably danced off a good 5 lbs worth of baby weight, while I was at it.

Speaking of baby weight and Baby, we started Avi on Solid Foods! Yay= mess. Horrible, horrible mess. This girl can’t even eat a bottle without getting it ev-er-y-where, so I’m sure you can imagine the fun of goopy rice cereal being aimed at her mouth. Here! I have pictures of the first attempt:

"I'm not so sure about this, dude."

"I'm not so sure about this, dude."

"This is not chocolate."

"This is not chocolate."

"Could be worse."

"Could be worse."

And that’s about all we’re hoping for. “Could be worse”. Because at least that means she’s eating it… after screaming for her bottle. After eating most of her bottle. She won’t eat the cereal first, oh no no no. It’s just not done. Not even on the rare occasions I catch her before she begins screaming for dinner. We’ll have to work on that.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Disney Resorts = totally worth it. The food courts, the service, the shopping, the pools, the food courts, the arcade, the essential Disney-ness… You get the picture.

We stayed at the Disney All-Star Movies resort, in the Fantasia building. Let me tell you, nothing gets the Sexy Blood Boiling than colorful Disney sheets with pictures of 101 Dalmatians and Herbie the Love Bug on them. Very hot.

But nevertheless fun! You can’t be unhappy in these surroundings. Even with torrential downpour for days, I swear it. I mean, Look!

Remember these brooms? Now they're also 4 stories tall!

Remember these brooms? Now they're also 4 stories tall!

From Fantasia 2000. They even had 2 buildings to designate the differences between the two.

From Fantasia 2000. They even had 2 buildings to designate the differences between the two.

The Love Bug building.

The Love Bug building.

This is the actual car used in the Disney World parades for over 20 years.

This is the actual car used in the Disney World parades for over 20 years.

Donald got a little "Fresh". Please ignore squishy post-baby belly.

Donald got a little "Fresh". Please ignore squishy post-baby belly.

...So I got "Fresh" with his woman. I think she liked it, don't you?

...So I got "Fresh" with his woman. I think she liked it, don't you?

And to segue beautifully into my next topic:

Who's the big winner?!

Who's the big winner?!

Mikey Monster, that’s who!!

And just what did he win?

MOTHER EFFIN’ AMERICAN IDOL!!

On Sunday, Mikey beat out 20,000 other contestants in order to win American Idol at Disney’s Hollywood Studios. He is what he likes to refer to as “Awesome” (and what I like to refer to as “A Talented Bastard“). So, how it works:

First, you have to go and audition with 30 seconds of a Capella singing in front of a cast member. If they like you, you go in front of a Producer (or two) and you sing a song (or two) with backing music. If they like you, you get put on a show with 2 other contestants. And you sing, and the thousand people in the audience vote (or don’t vote) for you. If they like you, you – and the 6 other winners from the days shows – will perform at that night’s finale show, for the grand prize of the Dream Ticket. This is a Golden Ticket to bypass all the nonsense for the Season 9 American Idol audition, and to gain a guaranteed meeting with the Idol judges, to see if they like you.

And Mikey? He beat them all. Even the show’s Pseudo Simon’s loved him. LOVED HIM, I tell you. I think my favorite judge’s quote, however, went like this:

“You know, man, I hate to get Political on you, but you are Barack-ing my world!”

Yes. Yes, the black judge really did say that. It was AWESOME.

As for the song, well, Chris Daughtry (for all of his own awesome-ness) couldn’t hold a candle to Mikey’s version of “Home”. I almost would have cried, if I hadn’t been so tense. I mean, that’s our song. He would sing it to me when he was on tour, when he was homesick (it was cute). And he just blew it out of the water, especially at the finale show.

…and guess what? I have pictures of this too!

Singing his heart out

Singing his heart out

"Holy Fuck! I won?!"

"Holy Fuck! I won?!"

He was surprised – I was not. I mean, I hear him sing, constantly. Pleased and proud of my baby, I was. Surprised, not so much.

Not kidding, vote for Mike Smith on next year's American Idol. Although I doubt you'll need my encouragement once you hear him.

Not kidding, vote for Mike Smith on next year's American Idol. Although I doubt you'll need my encouragement once you hear him.

All of the Smith Clan that was able to pay for an extra day in the park. Can you tell how excited and proud we all are?

All of the Smith Clan that was able to pay for an extra day in the park. Can you tell how excited and proud we all are?

Now, we just wait for the Season 9 auditions to come nearby (we’re thinking Chicago), and then he will more than likely be appearing on television.

Cooooooooool.

(total side-note):
That is almost as cool as seeing freakin’ WARWICK DAVIS on our vacation!! Wicket the Ewok! The Leprechaun! Willow! The world’s Number 1 most awesome really short person in THE WORLD!

So. Freakin'. AWESOME.

So. Freakin'. AWESOME.

Yay! for Star Wars weekends at the Hollywood studios.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

