jump to navigation

Thwarted. September 3, 2009

Posted by Julie Momster in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Grocery shopping completely thwarted my cooking aspirations for last night. By the time I got home (8:15PM), carried in the baby, and 3 loads of groceries (8:25), put everything away and pacified baby (8:45)…… let’s just say I was not in the mood for food.

We ordered Jimmy Johns instead. Hey, at least they’re “Gourmet”. And yummy.

I’m making up for it tonight though – plans for the evening include going home after work to empty out my veggie crisper, onward to pick up the baby, then over to Rich and Keli’s place for a Family Football Night – where I will proceed to assemble 2 batches of fresh corn salsa.

Mmmmmmmmmm corn salsa!

The fun part is that I get to tweak my recipes a little bit in order to please everyone (IE: my sister-in-law who is no fan of avocados). I have some fresh tomatoes from my neighbors garden and a few red bell peppers that I think I’ll be throwing into that mix – maybe some other things? I’m not quite sure yet… Either way, it will be awesome. Because I’m awesome. Or so I tell myself.

 

In other news! Avi has finally moved from her wounded soldier crawl into a full hands-and-knees crawl as of Tuesday. As in on Monday she couldn’t do it. And then magically on Tuesday, I turn around and – Look, Mama! Crawling!

I think my exact response was: Holy hell, dude! When the heck did you figure that out?!

And then I promptly pulled out my camera, videotaped it, and posted it to Facebook. I’m a nerd. But I was so proud! I mean, that was an abrupt baby-learning experience – one day, no; next day, MUST GO EAT CORDS, nomnomnom!

Apparently, I have no baby-proofed enough yet. As evidenced by my daughter eating a guitar cable…. although I fully blame that on my husband. My guitar does not have cables.

She still chews on my phone though.

I’m in that very conflicted stage with her right now in regards to her progress: on one hand, I’m beyond proud that she’s learning new things, any new thing. It’s awesome to watch her figure things out for the first time. But on the other hand, my baby is growing up so fast. It’s mind-boggling to me how quickly she’s picking these things up. It’s as if she figures it out one time, and then maybe all of two days later, she’s like “It’s cool, I’ve got this!”

But for all of it, I just love my little girl. She’s pretty much awesome.

Beautiful Girl

Beautiful Girl

Comments»

1. mommaoftwinsplus1 - September 3, 2009

I bought Avi a sippy cup, and she totally knows how to use it 🙂 She rocks 🙂

Julie Momster - September 3, 2009

Damn it, child! Stop growing up so fast!!

What’s she drinking? Her favorites change daily when I try things with her – usually pumpkins and pears is a huge YES, yesterday not so much. I don’t get it. She’s not picky, per se…. she’s just flaky hahaha

mommaoftwinsplus1 - September 4, 2009

She’s just been drinking her formula in the cup. I’ve tried giving her apple juice and other kinds of juices, but she just won’t try them.

2. Julie Momster - September 4, 2009

Little stinker. The only juice-type stuff I’ve been able to give her is watered-down Pedialyte. I have a terrible feeling I’m raising a picky eater…. *insert shudder here*


Leave a Reply

